The Hunger Games, Movie Theaters, and Mindless Eating – Part 1

Have you seen The Hunger Games, yet?!?

I haven’t, and it’s all I can think about!  (I’m planning on going this week, so no spoilers, please!)

If you have seen it, lucky you!  If not, try to recall the last movie you saw in a theater.  Did you have any theater food while you were there?  What did you eat?  How was it?  Don’t you remember?

Think about it.  At movie theaters we spend so many dollars and calories on food, but do we actually pay attention to what we eat during the film?

This concept ties in with my “quest for conscious eating” theme.  What’s the point of sound nutrition advice, good food choices, calorie-counting, et cetera, if you’re not going to pay attention to what you’re eating in the end anyway?

Now, don’t get me wrong; I’m not trying to completely bash eating at the movies.  In fact, popcorn itself can make a healthy snack – when it’s not drenched in artificial butter, of course!

My point here is not what you eat, but how you eat it.

The thing is, here in America, we’ve grown accustomed to using external cues to determine how much to eat (e.g. an empty plate), rather than the natural, internal cues (e.g. no longer feeling hungry).  For example, when you’re at a restaurant with friends, do you honestly assess your level of fullness to determine when to stop eating (listening to your body = internal cue)?  Or do you just continue grazing until your visit is over and/or plate is empty (listening to outside forces = external cue)?

When you eat without purpose or without consciously thinking about it, this is called mindless eating.  We all do it at times.  But the good news is, if you do some thinking ahead of time, you can actually use mindless eating to your own advantage: since you’re not really paying attention to your food anyway, you can easily make healthier choices in advance and you won’t even notice the difference!

In my next post, I’ll give you four simple ways you can do this.

To be continued…

(Click here to read part 2.)

One thought on “The Hunger Games, Movie Theaters, and Mindless Eating – Part 1

  1. Great post! I like how you tied a timeless concept (eating at the movies) to something popular that is happening right now (the release of the Hunger Games). I also liked your link out to the “Mindless Eating” article (and I liked that it wasn’t essential for the reader to go to the article in order to understand what mindless eating is). The poll is also a nice touch.

    I read all the Hunger Games books and saw the movie, so I liked the post even more. Ironically, I didn’t buy any food going into the movie, which is the complete opposite of what I normally do – I always have the unhealthy popcorn and an ICEE with me.

Leave a Reply

